Solifonds

Most students do not have a lot of money at their disposal and have to go to work for a living. If these students find themselves in a difficult life situation, such as a period of illness, the loss of a job or a study-related unpaid internship, they are often faced with financial hardship through no fault of their own.

Not infrequently, they are then faced with the decision “study or live” because they are unable to pay their tuition and rent at the same time. If their parents cannot step in, students are then usually left to their own devices, because in such situations they can hardly find support from other public institutions. This has been an unbearable situation for many years.

By founding the “Förderverein für unschuldig in Not geratene Studierende e.V.”, or Solifonds for short, in 2008, our student body created a direct support option to be able to help these students with a small injection of money. In the meantime, the Solifonds, with its 13 different support services, has become a lifeline for students who are struggling financially. The Solifonds is financed by membership fees from the student bodies. This amounts to 1€ per registered student per semester.

However, this is already enough to bridge the worst emergencies in the short term and to ensure that the studies and the general living situation of those affected are secured. Which policy is pursued in the Solifonds, you determine each year in the context of the university elections. Because the allocation guidelines of the Solifonds are determined by the student parliaments. And the AStA of your university is represented on the board of the association. In times of neoliberal social cuts, we are setting an example with the Solifonds at our universities: Solidarity among students is possible!

If you need support, just come to our weekly office hours. Please also use the possibility to make a separate consultation appointment via email. Especially during the re-registration period there is a very high application volume with corresponding waiting times. Every student of JLU and THM is eligible for financial aid, regardless of nationality.

Please remember to bring the following documents with you:

  • Certificate of study
  • Identity card/residence title
  • Tenancy agreement
  • Bank statements for the last 3 months (from all accounts)
  • Proof of income
  • All documents that might be relevant for the application process

Funding is provided in accordance with the funding association’s allocation guidelines. The funding amount is calculated according to a set scheme. Regardless of the calculation of the funding amount, a plausibility check is carried out in every case to ensure that only needy students are funded.

How to contact the Solifonds

Adress:Otto-Behagel-Straße 25 D
Jürgen-Dietz-Haus
35394 Gießen
E-Mail:kontakt@solifonds-giessen.de
Tel.:0641 99-14795
Contact Person:Judith Schwalm
Opening hours:Montag bis Donnerstag 09:00 – 13:00 Uhr
Office hours:Donnerstag, 9.00 – 11.00 Uhr
Website:www.solifonds-giessen.de

Information about changes in office hours can be found on the homepage under News. Please note possible corona-related restrictions in public traffic!

Solifonds

Die meisten Studierenden haben nicht viel Geld zur Verfügung und müssen für ihren Lebensunterhalt arbeiten gehen. Geraten diese Studierenden in eine schwierige Lebenslage, wie z.B. eine Krankheitsphase, der Verlust des Jobs oder ein studienrelevantes unbezahltes Praktikum, stehen sie häufig unverschuldet vor einer finanziellen Notlage.

Nicht selten stehen sie dann vor der Entscheidung „Studium oder Wohnung“, weil sie nicht in der Lage sind ihren Studienbeitrag und ihre Miete gleichzeitig zu bezahlen. Wenn ihre Eltern nicht einspringen können, sind Studierende dann in der Regel auf sich alleine gestellt, denn in solchen Situationen finden sie kaum Unterstützung bei anderen öffentlichen Einrichtungen. Dies war über viele Jahre eine unerträgliche Situation.

Durch die Gründung des „Fördervereins für unschuldig in Not geratene Studierende e.V.“, kurz Solifonds, wurde 2008 durch unsere Studierendenschaft eine direkte Unterstützungsmöglichkeit geschaffen, um diesen Studierenden durch eine kleine Geldspritze unter die Arme greifen zu können. Der Solifonds stellt mittlerweile mit 13 verschiedenen Förderleistungen einen Rettungsanker für finanziell ins straucheln geratene Studierende dar. Der Solifonds finanziert sich durch Mitgliedsbeiträge der Studierendenschaften.  Dieser beträgt pro eingeschriebenen Studierenden 1€ pro Semester.

Dies reicht jedoch bereits aus, um die schlimmsten Notlagen kurzfristig zu überbrücken und eine Sicherung des Studiums und der allgemeinen Lebenssituation der Betroffenen zu gewährleisten. Welche Politik im Solifonds betrieben wird, bestimmt ihr jedes Jahr im Rahmen der Hochschulwahlen. Denn die Vergaberichtlinien des Solifonds werden von den Studierendenparlamenten bestimmt. Und der AStA deiner Hochschule ist im Vereinsvorstand vertreten. In Zeiten neoliberalen Sozialabbaus, setzen wir mit dem Solifonds an unseren Hochschulen ein Zeichen: Gelebte Solidarität unter Studierenden ist möglich!

Wenn du Unterstützung benötigst, komm doch einfach in unsere wöchentliche Sprechstunde. Nutze bitte auch die Möglichkeit einen separaten Beratungstermin per E-Mail zu vereinbaren. Besonders während des Rückmeldezeitraums kommt es zu einem sehr hohen Antragsvolumen mit entsprechenden Wartezeiten. Förderberechtigt ist jeder Studierende der JLU und der THM unabhängig von der Staatsangehörigkeit.

Bitte denke daran folgende Unterlagen mitzubringen:

  • Studienbescheinigung
  • Personalausweis/Aufenthaltstitel
  • Mietvertrag
  • Kontoauszüge der letzten 3 Monate (von allen Konten)
  • Einkommensnachweise
  • Alle Unterlagen, die für das Antragsverfahren relevant sein könnten

Die Förderung erfolgt gemäß der Vergaberichtlinie des Fördervereins. Die Fördersumme wird nach einem festgelegten Schema berechnet. Unabhängig von der Berechnung der Fördersumme wird in jedem Fall eine Plausibilitätsprüfung durchgeführt, um sicherzustellen, dass nur bedürftige Studierende gefördert werden.

Wie kontaktiere ich den Solifonds

Adresse: Otto-Behagel-Straße 25 D
Jürgen-Dietz-Haus
35394 Gießen
E-Mail: kontakt@solifonds-giessen.de
Tel.: 0641 99-14795
Ansprechpartnerin: Judith Schwalm
Öffnungszeiten: Montag bis Donnerstag 09:00 – 13:00 Uhr
Sprechstunde: Donnerstag, 9.00 – 11.00 Uhr
Webseite: www.solifonds-giessen.de

Hinweise zu Änderungen der Sprechstunde findet ihr auf der Homepage unter News. Bitte beachtet eventuelle coronabedingte Einschränkungen im Publikumsverkehr!